AB Wins ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year 2014

Fri, 14/11/2014 - 15:06
  • AB de Villiers
    AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers was announced as this year's ICC ODI player of the year after his consistent top drawer performances and leadership qualities. De Villiers was also named in the Test and ODI teams of the year. Youngster Quinton de Kock was named in the ODI team of the year along with AB and Dale Steyn. Steyn also featured in the Test team of the year.

The full list of winners is: 

  • ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
  • ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
  • ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor (England)         
  • ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  • ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Gary Ballance (England)
  • ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Preston Mommsen (Scotland)
  • ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Aaron Finch (Australia)
  • ICC T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning (Australia)
  • ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Katherine Brunt (England)
  • ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough
  • LG People’s Choice – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

  • David Warner (Aus)
  • Kane Williamson (NZ)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
  • AB de Villiers (SA) (wicketkeeper)
  • Joe Root (Eng)
  • Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain)
  • Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
  • Stuart Broad (Eng)
  • Dale Steyn (SA)
  • Rangana Herath (SL)
  • Tim Southee (NZ)
  • Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)

 ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

  • Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)
  • Quinton de Kock (SA)
  • Virat Kohli (Ind)
  • George Bailey (Aus)
  • AB de Villiers (SA)
  • MS Dhoni (Ind) (wicketkeeper) (captain)
  • Dwayne Bravo (WI)
  • James Faulkner (Aus)
  • Dale Steyn (SA)
  • Mohammad Shami (Ind)
  • Ajantha Mendis (SL)
  • Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)

Info via ICC-cricket.com

​​Follow YSN here for all kinds of awesome:

YSN on Twitter for all the latest and greatestLots of YSN photos to tag you and your mates inYSN on Instagram because sometimes you gotta be artisticYSN on Youtube for the long highlightsYSN on Vine for all your big hits and quick clips

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter