USSA Cricket Team Named

Mon, 08/12/2014 - 14:47

 Murray Coetzee played an outstanding innings of 119 runs off 122 balls to lead the University of Pretoria (Tuks) to a 183-run drubbing of Stellenbosch University (Maties) in the final of the Universities Sports South Africa (USSA) A Week in Johannesburg on Friday.

Coetzee’s innings included 12 fours and a six, at a strike rate of 97.54 to help his side to 266/8 in their 50 overs, after winning the toss and electing to bat first. Sean Dickson added a brilliant 58 from 57 balls to cement the match-winning total.

Maties bowlers had a difficult time taking wickets. Dewald Botha was the side’s leading wicket-taker, with 3/48, while André Odendaal, James Groom and Niel Botha could only get one each.

A complete batting collapse followed when Maties took to the crease. Gerhard Linde and Sean Nowak annihilated the top and middle orders, sending everyone in the top six back to the hut for eight runs or less. Jean Marais was the only batsman who put up a bit of fight, top scoring with 34 runs, but five ducks and Groom and Ryelan Hartnick’s respective 18 and 16 runs were not good enough for the final of the tournament.

Linde and Nowak returned impressive figures of 4/29 and 3/8 respectively, while David Mogotlane chipped in with a notable 2/2 to claim a thoroughly deserved championship final.

Coetzee was named the deserved Player of the tournament, while Jack Newby and Martin van Wyk were named the respective Batsman and Bowler of the Week.

The South African Universities side that will take part in the Future Cup next year was also announced.

USSA team 2014

  •     Emile Kriek C (US)
  •     Bokang Mosena VC C/liUT
  •     Jack Newby (UCT)
  •     Richardt Frenz (NWU)
  •     Sean Dixon (UP)
  •     Jerry Nqolo (FH)
  •     Senuran Muthusamy (UKZN)
  •     Ruben Claassen (UP)
  •     Solomzi Nqweni (NMMU)
  •     Mpilo Njoloza (UWC)
  •     Murray Coetzee WK (UP)
  •     David Mogotlane (UP)
  •     Sean Nowak (UP)
  •     Non Traveling reserves
  •     David White (NMMU)
  •     Thabo Masheshemane (CUT)
  •     Tshepo Ntuli (CUT)
  •     Eddie Moore (NMMU)
  •     Keegan Petersen (US)
  •     Bjorn Fortuin (NWU-PUKKE)
  •     Martin van Wyk (NWU-VAAL)

The teams that have qualified for next year’s Varsity’T20 Cup are as follows:

University of Pretoria (Tuks), Stellenbosch University (Maties), Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU Madibaz PE), North West University (Pukke), University of Johannesburg (UJ), Free State University (Kovsies), University of the Western Cape (UWC), University of Cape Town (UCT – Ikeys).

Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images.

​​Follow YSN here for all kinds of awesome:

YSN on Twitter for all the latest and greatestLots of YSN photos to tag you and your mates inYSN on Instagram because sometimes you gotta be artisticYSN on Youtube for the long highlightsYSN on Vine for all your big hits and quick clips

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter