SA Schools Golf Team Announced

Mon, 30/09/2013 - 14:19

KZN Schools Golf together with Durban Country Club hosted the 23rd SA Schools Golf tournament this past week. The boys played 36 holes at Beachwood on Thursday and 36 holes at Durban Country Club on Friday. Gauteng Noord were the defending champions having won the tournament for the last seven years.

KZN A team played incredible golf in their own back yard to beat Gauteng Noord by an incredible 87 shots after four rounds. KZN B finished a very credible 3rd place ahead of the other 8 teams.

James Kennedy (KZN A – Kearsney), who won the KZN Schools championships at DCC with a final round 65, lead from the 1st round taking a slim lead of 1 stroke into the final round with Anu Gounden (KZN A – Phoenix) hot on his heels. Greg McKay (KZN A – Kearsney) had an incredible final round going 4 under par in the final 6 holes which included an eagle on the 18th from off the green to shoot 67 and beat team mate James Kennedy by 1 shot. Greg’s final score was 3 over par for the four rounds of golf.

The SA Schools team was announced at the prize giving with the following players being awarded their SA colours:

Greg McKay (KZN A, Kearsney)
James Kennedy (KZN A, Kearsney)
Anu Gounden (KZN A, Pheonix)
E Nel (Gauteng Noord, Waterkloof)
JP Cooper (Gauteng Noord, Waterkloof)
D Kok (Gauteng Noord, Waterkloof)
M Saulez (KZN A, Michaelhouse)
L Mayo (KZN B, Umhlanga College)

Photo of the winning KZN A Team:

Back: R Coetser (DHS); A Gouden (Phoenix); B Bergs (MHS); M Saulez (MHS)

Front: J Kennedy (Kearsney), M Mitchell Capt (College); G McKay (Kearsney) C Saunders (Hilton)

Get yourself involved in the Physical I.Q Golf Academy in association with the PGA and the Durban Country Club. Click Here for more details.

Article via

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter