Glenwood Sevens Tournament Produces Repeat Final

Sat, 17/08/2013 - 17:53

The Glenwood Photonote Sevens Rugby Tournament got off to a great start as the weather came to the party.

Favourite’s Glenwood and Maritzburg College topped their groups after their pools matches. The log leaders were joined by the impressive outfits of Michaelhouse and Die Anker, who were set to compete in the Cup Semi Finals.

Teams were then split into Categories: Shield, Bowl, Plate, and Cup.

In the Shield Semis DHS overcame Lowveld and Kingsway beat a determined Pinetown side.

In the Bowl Semis Pionier dashed Kearsney’s hopes late into the second half and Westville narrowly edged out Montana 14 – 12.

In the Plate semis Northwood danced passed St Charles and George Campbell beat Port Natal to book themselves into the Plate Final.

The Cup Semis were dubbed to produce a 2012 repeat final of the host team vs Maritzburg College. The pundits were proven right as Glenwood pulled up their socks in the second half to beat Die Anker 24 – 10 while Maritzburg College earned a hard fought victory over Michaelhouse.

The Shield final between DHS and Kingsway, DHS lead the game all the way, disallowing Kingsway to get on the scoresheet until late in the second half. Kurt Webster shone all throughout the tournament for his side and led DHS to a 38 – 5 victory.

In the Bowl Final the well matched George Campbell faced Northwood. Northwood scored first, going to the break 14 – 0. Northwood continued their form to win 21- 0.

In the Plate section Pionier pulled a gutsy performance to overcome Westville 21 – 5 and were the only Gauteng school to win a cup section.

Michaelhouse claimed third place and produced a good win against a strong Die Anker side, 15 – 5 to MHS at full time.

2012’s repeat final saw the host’s team run riot over Maritzburg College as they won 50 – 17, with a good display of skill from Sphamandla Ngcobo and Morne Joubert.

Final Standings

No Team
1 Glenwood
2 Maritzburg College
3 Michaelhouse
4 Die Anker
5 Pionier
6 Westville
7 Montana
8 Kearsney
9 Northwood
10 George Campbell
11 Port Natal
12 St Charles
13 DHS
14 Kingsway
15 Pinetown
16 Lowveld

All teams placed 5th in Pools

Port Shepstone
KZN Development

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter