WP U19 One Step Closer to Home Semi after Win over Leopards

Mon, 29/09/2014 - 16:39
  • Grant Hermanus
    Grant Hermanus

The DHL Western Province Under-19 team moved one step closer to a home semifinal in the 2014 Absa Provincial Under-19 competition, thanks to a convincing 43-24 win over the Leopards U19s in Potchefstroom on Saturday.

WP led 21-7 at half-time at Olën Park as they secured a valuable four-try bonus point away from home – in all, their eighth win of 2014.

Fullback Adriaan Carelse, restored to the starting XV this week, scored two tries, whilst scrumhalf Justin Phillips was a constant threat at close-range and also weighed in with a try double.

Flyhalf Ernst Stapelberg passed the 100-point mark this season with a match-haul of 13 – five conversions and one penalty goal.

The WP Under-19s, the 2012 champions, now have 36 log points from ten matches, trailing the first-placed Bulls U19s by six points and five points ahead of the third place-placed Free State team.

Province will travel to Bloemfontein to take on Free State next weekend, before completing the league phase of the competition against the Sharks U19s at DHL Newlands on October 11.

A win over Free State will secure a top-two finish for the Province Under-19 side.

The scorers:

  • For Leopards Under-19:
  • Tries: x4
  • Cons: x2
  • For DHL Western Province Under-19:
  • Tries: Carelse 2, Phillips 2, Louw, Muhr
  • Cons: Stapelberg 5
  • Pen: Stapelberg

The teams:

Leopards Under-19: 15 Gene Willemse, 14 Diego Visagie, 13 Elden Schoeman, 12 Akhona Nela (captain), 11 Allen Muller, 10 Sydney du Plessis, 9 Roelof Scheepers, 8 Stefan Kruger, 7 Gerhard Steenekamp, 6 Wessel Steyn, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Jacques van Zyl, 3 Roan Grobbelaar, 2 Gerhardus le Roux, 1 Mogau Mabokela.
Replacements: 16 Boyza Magalakangqa, 17 Morne Strydom, 18 Tiaan Bezuidenhout, 19 Gideon Johann van der Merwe, 20 Eugene Hare, 21 Rudi Pieters, 22 Rashard Ian Fuller, 23 Francois Jacobs.

DHL Western Province Under-19: 15 Adriaan Carelse, 14 Grant Hermanus, 13 Jarryd Sage, 12 Ryan Oosthuizen, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Justin Phillips, 8 Dian Koen, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jacques Oosthuizen, 5 Ruan du Preez, 4 David Ribbans, 3 Frans van Wyk (captain), 2 Regardt Louw, 1 Francois van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Hanno Snyman, 17 Lebohang Mdakane, 18 Mihlali Mtongana, 19 Dylan Harlen, 20 Lohann Louw, 21 Damian Stevens, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Heinrich Buhr.

Referee: Ricus van der Hoven

Article via WPrugby.com

​​Follow YSN here for all kinds of awesome:

YSN on Twitter for all the latest and greatestLots of YSN photos to tag you and your mates inYSN on Instagram because sometimes you gotta be artisticYSN on Youtube for the long highlightsYSN on Vine for all your big hits and quick clips

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter