WP U19's out to Dethrone Currie Cup Title Holders

Fri, 24/10/2014 - 14:08
  • Grant Hermanus
    Grant Hermanus

The DHL WP U19s have rallied back strongly during the latter stages of the Absa Provincial Under-19 competition to put themselves in contention to once again lift the trophy in this age-group – having also triumphed in the final in Durban in 2012.

After finishing third in the league phase this season, with nine wins from 12 starts, the team recorded a brilliant 29-22 semifinal win away from home last weekend and coach Adams was a proud man after their victory in Bloemfontein.

The DHL WP U19 boss told www.wprugby.com: “We had that belief last week to do the job away from home and it was nice to see the excitement amongst the players after the win.

“I told them to enjoy the moment, but by Monday they were refocused and looking ahead to this weekend. We know it’s a big game, but we’re ready for it and looking forward to it.

“The Bulls are a good team, we’ve beaten them once this year and lost to them on another occasion. Physically, there is little to choose between our teams, it’s all about being calm, disciplined and focused in a game of this magnitude. That will be the key come Saturday.”

The DHL WP U19s beat the Bulls at home in Cape Town in mid-August, before the Bulls juniors turned the table on Province in Pretoria later that month.

Adams, as one would expect, is happy to be at home for this weekend’s final.

“It’s a nice feeling to be playing a big final like this at DHL Newlands,” he said.

“All three DHL Western Province teams will be involved in finals on Saturday. Not only would it be a massive honour to open the day on a high for our union, but it’s also a big inspiration for us to set the tone for WP.”

The DHL WP Under-19 team for Saturday’s final (v Blue Bulls, home) is as follows:

15. Khanyo Ngcukana
14. Grant Hermanus
13. Heinrich Buhr
12. Ryan Oosthuizen
11. Leolin Zas
10. Ernst Stapelberg
9. Justin Phillips
8. Rikus Bothma (captain)
7. Luke Stringer
6. Christo van der Merwe
5. David Ribbans
4. Johan Momsen
3. Francois van der Merwe
2. Paul-Martin Wipplinger
1. Frans van Wyk


16. Hanno Snyman
17. Lebohang Mdakane
18. Kyle Whyte
19. Ruan du Preez
20. Graham Geldenhuys
21. Brendon Nell
22. Jarryd Sage
23. Adriaan Carelse

Article via WPrugby.com

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter