SA u20 Amajita Slip Against Mali

Mon, 28/07/2014 - 10:14

A slip by goalkeeper Dumisani Msibi in the 40th minute at a rain-soaked Stade Modibo Keita in Bamako saw Mali striker Abramane Fane score the only goal to give the South African Men’s U20 National Team (Amajita) their first defeat on the tour of West Africa.

Heavy rain [...] made the ball uncontrollable with puddles of water on the pitch.

Amajita and Mali met on Saturday, 26 July in an international friendly match.

Heavy rain, which came down just minutes before the start of the clash, made the ball uncontrollable with puddles of water on the pitch. That resulted in players from both sides were slipping and sliding with rain paltering down.

The goal was a lucky one for the home side.

Mali goalkeeper Sory Ibrahim Traore sent a long ball forward. It eluded every one and did not look dangerous but stopped in a water puddle between Msibi and Fane, and when the South African slipped, the Mali striker benefited and put the ball into an empty net to give the home side a 1-nil lead at the break.

By the start of the second half, the rain had subsided and the playing conditions improved on the pitch with both sides having a go at each other.

Amajita coach Shakes Mashaba made some changes in the second stanza – bringing on Tshepo Liphoko, Bandile Shandu, Ndabayithethwa Phillip Ndlondlo, Yagan Sasman and Denwin Farmer for Thembinkosi Mbamba, Fagrie Lakay, Pule Maraisane, Maphosa Modiba and Ayabulela Magqwaka.

But the score remained the same.

This was South Africa’s second match on the tour of West Africa to prepare for the 2015 African Youth Championship qualifier against Cameroon on Saturday, 16 August in Yaounde.

Amajita drew one all against Burkina Faso in Ouagadougou on Wednesday, 23 July.

South Africa travels to Dakar, Senegal on Sunday, 27 July for a date with the hosts on Wednesday, 30 July.

The last match will be against Ivory Coast on Monday, 4 August.

Squad Lineups

Mali U20: Sory Ibrahim Traore (GK), Bourema Doumbia, Hamidou Maiga, El Hadji Salim Bah, Falaye Sacko, Moussa Bagayoko, Mohamed Guarogui, Dieudonne Gbakle, Abdramane Fane, Sahou Giunolo, Ichaka Diarra (C)
Subs: Djigui Diarra (GK), Mamadou Zerbo, Mahamadou Dzame, Moussa Coulibaly, Hamidou Traore, Moussa Sissoko, Djibril Diallo
Coach: Fanyeri Diarra

SA U20: 16-Dumisani Msibi (GK), 3-Bongani Mathabela, 12-Aubrey Maphosa Modiba (Yagan Sasman 76th), 2-Madisha Modjeka, 5-Ayabulela Magqwaka (C) (Denwin Farmer 88th), 11-Pule Maraisane (Bandile Shandu 62nd), 6-Ryan Christian, 8-Tlotlo Leepile, 15-Fagrie Lakay (Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo 62nd), 9-Dikgang Ngcobo, 23-Thembinkosi Mbamba (Tshepo Liphoko 46th)
Subs: 22-Jethren Barr, 4-Yagan Sasman, 14-Denwin Farmer, 7-Tshepo Liphoko, 20-Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo, 17-Bandile Shandu, 19-Skhumbuzo Mazibuko
Coach: Shakes Mashaba

Referee - Boubou Traore (Mali)



Follow YSN here for more Amajita news:


Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter