WP Win Third SA Billabong Grommet Games Title In A Row

Mon, 31/03/2014 - 14:00
  • Jaco Conradie - Photo Kody McGregor

The Western Province Grommet team won the Billabong SA Grommet Games which was completed at the Pipe, Pollock Beach Port Elizabeth Sunday and took home the Mandela Bay Trophy for the third year in a row. Hosts Eastern Province were second, last year’s runners up KZN Central were third, Border came fourth, Boland secured fifth spot and Southern Cape were sixth.

Western Province also won the Tag Team Trophy, beating Eastern Province, Border and KZN Central in the Final but the coveted Team Spirit Award, also known as Best Team Award, went to Boland who despite only finishing fifth overall displayed the best Team Spirit throughout the event.

Once again Western Province’s dominance at this unique 22 year old event is a credit to the excellent administration and coaching of a group of girls and boys by a dedicated management team.

Over 100 girls and boys from six provincial associations took part in the annual event which is Surfing South Africa’s premier entry level inter-provincial tournament.

Sponsorship from Billabong, funding from Sport and Recreation South Africa and support from BOS ensured that the 22nd edition of the SA Grommet Games was a success once again.

The Grommet Games were well organised once again by Event Secretary Shirley Fairall and her team and supported by SSA Vice President Johnny Bakker and hosts Eastern Province Surfing Council while Contest Director Brad Beck and his officials did a great job over the four days of competition.

In addition Josh Enslin and the Billabong Team once again made the contest a standout on the annual Surfing South Africa calendar.

In the individual surfing categories, the youngest winner was Nate Colby of KZN Central while Kyra Bennie of Western Province took honours in the Under10 Final. The Under 12 Boys and Girls Champions were Nathan Spalding of KZN Central and Kelly Fenton of Eastern Province. Spalding was also named Surfer of the Contest.

Luke Slijpen of Western Province won the Under 14 Boys title while Courtney Sim of KZN Central was the Under 14 Girls Division winner.

The Under 16 Boys championship went the way of Jaro Conradie Phiri of Western Province with Southern Cape girl Taghiti Gericke taking honours in the Under 16 Girls Division.

The Von Zipper Best Manouvre Awards were won by Luke Snyman of WP and Courtney Sim of KZN Central. Kyra Bennie of WP achieved the highest wave score and was presented with a surfboard donated by top South African surfer, Dale Staples.
Patience Schoeman of Southern Cape was presented with the Sportsmanship Award
The full results and a gallery of photos will be posted on www.surfingsouthafrica.co.za

The SA Grommet Games is a tournament with a primary focus on transformation and development within the sport. Provincial structures are set strict criteria when selecting their teams for the four days of competition. While the main focus of the event is on surfing, participation in events such as a Paddle Battle, Beach Flags and Tag Team contest are included in the activities.

2014 Billabong SA Grommet Games
Full Results


U10 & U12 Girls

  • 1ST Kayla Nogueira KZN Central
  • 2ND Fehmke Murray Southern Cape
  • 3RD Kelly Fenton Eastern Province

U14 & U16 Girls

  • 1ST Chelsea Mussel Western Province
  • 2ND Elchristie Marais Eastern Province
  • 3RD Jade Vaughan Eastern Province

U8,U10 & U12 Boys

  • 1ST Byron Emslie Border
  • 2ND Wian Jonck Southern Cape
  • 3RD Sphelele Shandase KZN Central

U14 & U16 Boys

  • 1ST Ziyaad Boomgaard KZN Central
  • 2ND Elrico Ludick Boland
  • 3RD Luke Snyman Western Province


  • Girls
  • 1st Kira Bester Boland
  • 2nd Taghiti Gericke Southern Cape
  • 3rd Julia Ploughman Western Province
  • Boys
  • 1st Luke Slijpen Western Province
  • 2nd Cameron Rheeder Eastern Province
  • 3rd Luke Snyman Western Province


  • 1st Western Province
  • 2nd Eastern Province
  • 3rd Border
  • 4th KZN Central



  • 1st Nate Colby KZNC
  • 2nd Andre Roos BOL
  • 3rd Josh Van Wyk WP
  • 4th Callum Emslie BOR
  • 5th Kauthar Salie EP


  • 1st Kyra Bennie WP
  • 2nd Lisa Van Heerden BOL
  • 3rd Byron Emslie EP
  • 4th Reegan Roman WP

U12 Girls

  • 1st Kelly Fenton EP
  • 2nd Emma Decker WP
  • 3rd Kayla Nogueira KZNC
  • 4th Kealla Pratt BOL
  • 5th Leah Johnston BOR

U12 Boys

  • 1st Nathan Spalding KZNC
  • 2nd Dylan Hendricks EP
  • 3rd Kye Mcgregor EP
  • 4th Spehelele Shangase KZNC

U14 Girls

  • 1st Courtney Sim KZNC
  • 2nd Julia Ploughman WP
  • 3rd Jade Vaughan EP
  • 4th Patience Schoeman SC

U14 Boys

  • 1st Luke Slijpen WP
  • 2nd Jared Hook KZNC
  • 3rd Tristan Torr EP
  • 4th Keegan Mitchell BOR

U16 Girls

  • 1st Taghiti Gericke SC
  • 2nd Paige Wheal SC
  • 3rd Alice Kotze WP
  • 4th Zamokhule Njapha KZNC

U16 Boys

  • 1st Jaro Conradie – Phiri WP
  • 2nd Luke Snyman WP
  • 3rd Enrico Alexandria EP
  • 4th Liam Burger EP


  • 3 KZN CENTRAL 25931
  • 4 BORDER 23287
  • 5 BOLAND 21493
  • 6 SOUTHERN CAPE 18327

Von Zipper Best Manouvre

  • Luke Snyman WP
  • Courtney Sim KZNC

Sportsmanship award

  • Patience Schoeman SC

Surfer of the Contest

  • Nathan Spalding KZNC

Highest Wave Score : Surfboard donated by Dale Staples

  • Kyra Bennie WP

Team Spirit Award – Best Team Trophy

  • Boland

Surfing Trophy

  • Western Province

Mandela Bay Trophy – Overall Champions of the Grommet Games

  • Western Province

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter