10 Western Province Year End Surfing Awards

Tue, 03/12/2013 - 11:22
  • Mike February
  • Tanika Hoffman

Western Province Surfing brought the curtain down in style on a highly successful 2013 with the presenting of the annual Western Province Surfing Championships at Long Beach in Kommetjie.

Over 90 surfers from Under 11 to Over 60 enjoyed prime surf and perfect weather on both days of competition in the 48th edition of this popular event.

Fittingly Mike February and Tanika Hoffman,who were members of the South African Team that won the ISA World Surfing Games in Panama earlier this year, took home five awards between them.
February won both the Western Province Open Men’s and Under 20 titles and was the obvious choice as Western Province Male Surfer of the Year while Hoffman successfully defended her 2012 Western Province Open Women’s Title and was the deserving recipient of the Western Province Female Surfer of the Year Award.

In the Men’s Final February beat his great friend Josh Salie into second place with Max Armstrong third and Craig Johnson fourth. Papi Makanyane was the runner up to February in the Under 20 Final with Brandon Benjamin third and Ethan Pentz fourth.

Hoffman beat newcomer Lauren Leigh into second place in the Women’s final with Ruth Armstrong third and Cara Stubbs taking fourth place.

In the Senior Men’s Division Steven Gadd took the honours ahead of Dave Mommsen, Phil Nel and Volker Mielck while Dave Stubbs beat Howie Gold, Jeremy Zinn and Brian Bernstein to take Masters crown.

In the highly competitive Under 17 Boys Division Josh Olive edged Max Armstrong into second place with Dylan Wichmann taking third spot ahead of Dillon Fernandez fourth.

The Under 15 Boys Championship title went the way of Donovan Wichmann with Ford Van Jaarsveldt second ahead of Jordy Maree and Jake Elkington who were third and fourth respectively while the Under 15 Girls title was won by 2013 SA Under 15 champion, Ruth Armstrong. Pippa Jones was the runner up to Armstrong in this division and Kiah Bettison and Natasha Van Greunen filled third and fourth place respectively.

Max Elkington beat Eli Beukes, Brage Jorgensen and Joe Webster in the Under 13 Boys Final and Finn Musson became the Under 13 Girls champion when she beat Sarah Ingram, Julia Ploughman and Zoe Holbrow in their final.

The Under 11 Boys title was won by York Van Jaarsveldt with Manoa Robb second, Sam Bennie third and Alex Townsend fourth


Name Award
Mike February Surfer of the Year(Male)
Tanika Hoffman Surfer Of the Year(Female)
Celine Townsend Basil Lomberg Trophy
Chris Bond Kirk Cottrel Award
Mandla Ndlovu Sportmanship
Rosemarie Wichman Friendship Trophy
Simone Robb USA World Longbord Champion
Craig Johnson Coach of the year
Hans Kamkhoot Master Surfer of the year
Jordy Maree Junior Surfer of the year

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter