SA Swim Team Headed to the 15th FINA World Champs

Tue, 04/06/2013 - 16:29
  • Chad Le Clos

Swimming South Africa has announced a strong team of athletes to represent the country at the 15th FINA World Championships in Barcelona, Spain from 19th July to 4th August 2013.

The Open Water team will be the first to compete on 20th July, when Michelle Weber, Kyna Pereira, Chad Ho and Troyden Prinsloo take to the water in the 5km race.  Weber, who won gold in the 5km FINA World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships in Canada last year, will also be in action in the 10km race alongside Clarice le Roux as well as Ho and Prinsloo.

The swimming programme begins on the 28th of July, with World Record Holder Cameron van der Burgh being among the first in the water in the 100m breaststroke, as well as fellow breaststroker Giulio Zorzi.

After phenomenal performances at the recent SA National Championships, Olympians Chad le Clos and Roland Schoeman have proven they are in top form and will be joining the team, which includes the likes of expert backstrokers Gerhard Zandberg and Darren Murray, long distance swimmer Myles Brown, medley specialist Michael Meyer and freestyler Leith Shankland.

With three gold medals and silver from the 2013 SA Nationals, Karin Prinsloo will be among a highly competitive team of young ladies who will represent Mzansi at the World Championships.

Jessica Ashleigh-Cooper (20), Trudi Maree (24), Vanessa Mohr (18), Tara Nicholas (17), Kyna Pereira (17), Marlies Ross (15) and Rene Warnes (21) will be looking for even faster times as they strive for glory at the Barcelona competition.

In wishing the national team the best of luck for the FINA World Championships in Barcelona, Swimming SA CEO Shaun Adriaanse said:
“The SA aquatic athletes are all champions in the eyes of Swimming SA, We trust that through their combined strength, determination and skill, they will give South Africa something to be proud of.”



Men Region
Myles Brown KZNA
Chad le Clos KZNA
Michael Meyer CGA
Darren Murray NTS
Roland Schoeman NTS
Leith Shankland KZNA
Cameron van der Burgh NTS
Gerhard Zandberg NTS
Giulio Zorzi NTS


Men Region
Jessica Ashleigh- Cooper WPA
Trudi Maree WPA
Vanessa Mohr NTS
Tara Nicholas KZNA
Kyna Pereira KZNA
Karin Prinsloo NTS
Marlies Ross NTS
Rene Warnes KZNA

Open Water:

Men 10 km

Chad Ho KZNA
Troyden Prinsloo KZNA

Men 5 km

Chad Ho KZNA
Danie Marais  (WPA)

Women 10 km

Michelle Weber KZNA
Clarice le Roux KZNA

Women 5 km

Michelle Weber KZNA
Kyna Pereira KZNA

Photo of Chad Le Clos

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter