2012 National Co-Ed Water Polo Girls Champions

Sun, 07/10/2012 - 13:02
  • Crawford Lonehill 2012 Girls Water Polo Team

The National Co-Ed tournament took place at Thomas More College, attracting 16 national co-ed schools to compete for this year's Championship title. 52 games and 589 goals later, the girls from Crawford Lonehill achieved top honours at this year’s National Co-Ed Water polo competition, racing to the final with a series of convincing victories. Although challenged in their first encounter against Westerford, Crawford made no mistake the second time around as they flourished in the final winning 8-3.

Road To Finals

No Result Score Opponent
1 Won 12  - 0 Somerset
2 Won 19  - 3 Kingsway
3 Won 10  - 8 Westerford
4 Won 14  - 2 Hudson Park
5 Won 7  - 5 Stirling
6 Won 8  - 3 Westerford

Crawford played six games, scored 72 goals, conceded 21, and finished off with a 11.6 goal average per game.

Played F A Avg Per Game
6 70 21 11.6

A tournament team was selected featuring three Crawford players, three Westerford [runners up] players, and three players from St. Peter's College. Awards were also given to players for their overall tournament performances.

2012 National Co-Ed Water Polo Tournament team

No Player School
1 Kim Rosslee Crawford
2 Robyn Macleod Crawford
3 Dimitra Evangelidis Crawford
4 Nicole MacKenzie Kloof
5 Kelly Gasson Kloof
6 Carly Wessels  Stirling
7 Megan Thompson Stirling
8 Alex Gascoigne St Peters
9 Nicole Haird   St Peters
10 Nicole Batchelor St Peters
11 Bianca van Ellewee Thomas More
12 Nicole Schumann  Westerford
13 Yael Benjamin Westerford
14 Ruby Versfeld  Westerford


Awards Player School
Best Forward Kim Rosslee Crawford
Best Back Kelly Gasson Kloof
Best Goalie Bianca van Ellewee Thomas More

Salutations to the 2012 National Co-Ed Water Polo Champions; Crawford Lonehill

No Player
1 Ashley Silk
2 Michelle De Clercq
3 Kirsten Swanepoel
4 Kim Rosslee
5 Robyn Macleod
6 Cassandra Rego
7 Philipa Jane Randall-Smith
8 Regan James
9 Demi Eve
10 Kate Ford
11 Dimitra Evangelidis
12 Michelle Janeke
13 Adell De Beer

Coach: Tristan Renaud
Assistant: Coach Kirstin Wait
Manager: Deirdre Button

Photographer: George B Watson

Photo by: 

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter