SA Youth Water Polo Boys Look To Improve World Ranking

Tue, 04/03/2014 - 12:08
  • Nick Downes at the 1st FINA World Youth Champs
  • Dayne Jagga at the 1st FINA World Youth Champs

The second edition of the FINA World Men's Youth Water Polo Championships will be held in Istanbul from August 2-10, 2014.

Defending champions Italy will face off against some of the world's top Polo teams. 20 teams will be split into 4 groups of five. (see table below)

Group A Group B Group C Group D
Kazakhstan Australia Brazil New Zealand
Spain Iran Italy Serbia
Hungary Argentina Africa 2 Croatia
USA Montenegro Turkey Canada
Africa 1 Japan Russia Peru

Three African countries, South Africa, Egypt, and Zimbabwe will compete for the only two vacant places in the World Youth competition. The three countries will compete at St Johns College from the 13th to the 16th of March.

2012 final youth water polo rankings for boys

No Team
1 Italy
2 Hungary
3 Serbia
4 Croatia
5 Greece
6 Romania
7 Australia
9 Brazil
10 New Zealand
11 Canada
12 Iran
13 Uzbekistan
14 Egypt
15 Colombia
16 Kazakhstan
17 South Africa
18 Trinidad and Tobago
19 Peru

2012 SA players

Player School Province
Franco Conversano Clifton College KZN
Nicholas Downes Clifton College KZN
Kyle Gibson Pretoria Boys High GP
Campbell Gregory St. Andrews College EP
Murray Howard Clifton College KZN
Dayne Jagga Clifton College KZN
Yasein Meth Durban High School KZN
Chad Roman Westerford High School WP
Joshua Stubb Reddam House WP
Julian Lewis Kearsney College KZN
Michael Watt-Pringle King Edward VII School GP
Kyle Westman Glenwood Boys High KZN
Michael Young Crawford Lonehill GP
Non Travelling Reserves    
Wyatt Edwards Clifton College KZN
Dan Trninic St. Johns College GP
Tyler Rattray Maritzburg College KZN
Lihleli Tini St. Andrews College EP
Ryan van der Waal Kearsney College KZN

2014 Team

Player School Province
Nicholas Downes* Clifton College KZN
Paul du Plessis Paul Roos Gimnasium WPA
Andy During Bishops WPA
Wyatt Edwards Clifton College KZN
Jason Evezard Grey PE EPA
Dayne Jagga* Clifton College KZN
Gareth May Clifton College KZN
Jeandre Petersen DHS KZN
Todd Patterson Clifton College KZN
Matthew Petzer Pearson EPA
David Rom Reddam WP
Jordan Rumbelow SACS WPA
Luke Schooling SACS WPA
Non Travelling Reserves    
Michael Brakespear Clifton College KZN
Jason Chemaly St. Johns College GP
Kimon Haralambous Bishops WPA
Jason Pope St Peters CG
Chris Strong St Johns CG

*2nd appearance.

This year's team features a couple of youngsters with the likes of Jason Evezard, David Rom, and Jeandre Petersen joining the squad.  Water Polo veterans Nicholas Downes and Dayne Jagga will feature in their second tournament and will bring tons of experience to the table as they both have featured in numerous competitions nationally and internationally.

Bishops' Andy During will provide some solid defence in between the goals, and Clifton's Wyatt Edwards will act as the play maker, but the exclusion of the Bishops goal scoring machine Kimon Haralambous comes as a shock.

SACS also provide two strong players in the form of Jordan Rumblelow and Luke Schooling. Clifton once again serves up an array of talent as 5 players feature in the travelling team.

Have your say!

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Receive YSN Newsletter